Industry Leadership Council

The purpose of NSFA’s Industry Leadership Council is to better engage industry leaders as ambassadors on behalf of NFSA and to gain the benefit of their voice in guiding the growth of the industry. Tasks and oversight of the Industry Leadership Council shall include but not be limited to the following:

  • Provide input on important membership issues including member benefits and existing and future programs and services.
  • Actively solicit input from state peers as requested to guide industry growth.
  • Build the NSFA brand in each state by acting as the NSFA Ambassador to other education foundation leaders and prospective member and help with recruiting efforts.

Term: Three Years


  • K-12 education foundation leader
  • Passionate about education foundation industry
  • Well-connected and respected in state
  • Organization is NSFA member

Selection Process: One Ambassador per state will be selected except in states with more than 150 education foundations. In those states, two Ambassadors from geographically diverse regions will be selected. In those states, two Ambassadors from geographically diverse regions will be selected.

NSFA State Affiliates will make recommendations for their state's Council Ambassador. In all other states, potential Ambassadors are invited to answer a brief questionnaire, Industry Leadership Council Chairs and the NSFA Executive Director will choose the most qualified candidate.

Meetings: The Council shall meet no fewer than one time per year, at the call of the Chairpersons of the Committee or the NSFA Executive Director, and will maintain minutes of all meetings, which shall be approved by the Council and made available for distribution to the Board. The annual in-person meeting shall take place at the National Conference. Attendance at this meeting is highly encouraged but not required.

Members of the Industry Leadership Council will have the opportunity to meet quarterly via conference call, either nationally or by regions. These regions have been designated by the NSFA Board.

Industry Leadership Council Members

Gail Rothman - Industry Leadership Council Chair
Executive Director, Decatur Education Foundation, GA

Kendall Williams , AL
Executive Director, Shelby County Schools Education Foundation

Jen Hewitt, AZ
Executive Director, Chandler Education Foundation

Laura Brown, CA
Executive Director, Tahoe Truckee Excellence in Education Foundation

Kim Akeley-Charron, CO
Executive Director, Thompson Education Foundation

Carman Cullen-Batt, FL
Executive Director, Educational Foundation of Lake County

Ann Arbuckle, IA
Executive Director, Ames Education Foundation

Jennifer Henderson, ID
Executive Director, Boise Public Schools Foundation

Erin Brooks, IL
Executive Director, Township High School District 214

Josh Long, IN
Executive Director, Hammond Education Foundation

Amy Stuursma, MI
Executive Director, East Grand Rapids Public Schools

Danielle Grant, MN
President & CEO, AchieveMSP

Sheryl Franke, MO
Executive Director, Lee's Summit Education Foundation

Amy Sperry, NC
Executive Director, Union County Education Foundation

Wendy Van, NE
Executive Director, Lincoln Public Schools Foundation

Debbie Sontupe, NJ
Executive Director, Morris Educational Foundation

Shannon Barnhill, NM
Executive Director, APS Education Foundation

Heather Carroll, NY
Executive Director, Skaneateles Education Foundation

Jeff Abke, OH
Director of Development, Perrysburg Schools Foundation

Liv Gifford, OR
Executive Director, Corvallis Public Schools Foundation

Donna Frisby-Greenwood, PA
President and CEO, The Fund for the School District of Philadelphia

Dan Challener, TN
Executive Director, The Public Education Foundation

Crystal Scanio, TX
Executive Director, Irving Schools Foundation

Judy Geelhoed, TX
Executive Director, SAISD Foundation

Abby McNulty, UT
Executive Director, Park City Education Foundation

Mike Taylor, VA
Executive Director, Henrico Education Foundation

Deborah Brandi, WA
Executive Director, Foundation for Edmonds School District

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software